The Academies Trust

Lordswood Academies Trust comprises:

  • Lordswood Girls’ School
  • Lordswood Boys’ School
  • Lordswood Sixth Form Centre

An Academy is an “independent” state school.

It is a charitable company limited by guarantee, and governed by Articles of Association.  These, and other information about the Trust, can be found on the Trust website pages.

The Academies Trust is responsible for its land and assets. Academies are the direct employer of staff, have direct health and safety responsibilities, are the schools’ admissions authority, and are responsible for ensuring that the schools undergo an annual external financial audit.

Academies are responsible for providing some services that would have previously been provided by the local authority.

At Lordswood there is a Trust body which is the over-arching accountable body. There are currently about 10 members and they meet once a term.

Reporting to them is a “ Premises” committee which has representatives from both schools. They discuss premises which are relevant to both schools. There is also a “Staffing” committee. There is also a small Audit committee, which acts in the role of Responsible Officer.

The Schools are still separate schools.

The Governing Body

Each school has a local Governing Body which discusses matters relevant to that School, and reports to the Trust.

The role of the local governing body:

The role of the local governing body is a strategic one. It is responsible for the conduct of the school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement.


  • Provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework
  • Agrees the school improvement strategy, which includes setting targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures
  • Monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy
  • Responds to Ofsted reports as necessary. It holds the headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required.

There are currently 9 members. These include parent governors who are  elected, and co-opted governors, who are appointed. All appointments are for four years.

The Governing Body meets  twice per term.

A list of the current members of the Governing Body can be found below. You can contact the Governing Body by emailing the Clerk to the Governors, Tina van Zeller at

Pecuniary and business interests:

The following were declared in 2016/17

Jane Götschel – relative working for the Trust

Laura Wheatly – governor at Abbey Junior School


Roles and committees
ChairDagmar Sharples (Parent governor)12/07/12Trustee, Staffing, Sixth form
Vice-Chair,Laura Wheatly28/11/13Trustee, Staffing
Paul Brownsword6/02/13Trustee, Premises
Tim Davis5/06/14Trustee, Premises, Risk and Audit
Jane Götschel (Executive Headteacher)Executive Headteacher
Lisa Kennedy17/07/16Sixth Form, SEN and Safeguarding
George KoutsouHeadteacher
Parent governorEmma Hickl 24/06/16
Parent governorAdele Champken
Academy Finance DirectorLynne Latham
Clerk to the GovernorsTina van Zeller

Governor attendance at meetings 2015/16

Number of possible meetings
Number attended
Number of accepted apologies
Paul Brownsword853
Tim Davis862
Lisa Kennedy844
Dagmar Sharples88
Paul Spofforth44
Laura Wheatly853
Jane Gotschel88
Michael Rennie22
George Koutsou888

Changes during the year:

Paul Spofforth resigned 20th January 2016.

Michael Rennie was not in school after November 2015.

George Koutsou was promoted to Headteacher in April 2016 and therefore became a governor.